On the buses

I’ve recently become a regular user of public transport for my daily commute and I’ve been pleasantly surprised.

When I was younger we didn’t have a car and I went everywhere on public transport. Then at school I used public transport every day and as far as I can remember, it was nothing but waiting around, being crammed into over-crowded trams and trains and never getting anywhere on time.  The last six months have convinced me public transport is great.

Since leaving school it’s not been practical for me to regularly use public transport for different reasons at different times. For years I lived within a few hundred metres of where I worked so there was simply no need for anything but shanks’ pony. At one point I lived on the ship on which I worked and had to do nothing more than walk up a couple of passageways and climb a few ladders and I was at work. For the last ten or so years, due to location or timing, I’ve had no real option but to drive. All of that changed about six months ago and the bus became my chariot.

The memories of my school days help me to understand why people dislike this form of travel but I’ve really taken to it. For a start, the bus stops about 40 metres from my front door, my trip is only 30-40 minutes long and the buses are rarely crowded. I find this half hour or so to be relaxing, a period of time out from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the day. I get to sit on the bus, play with my phone, listen to music, watch other commuters come and go or just stare out the window and watch the world (as I) go by. I’ve found it’s a great way to ease into a day or unwind from work and I think I’m in a better mood and more alive when I get home because of it.

For anyone with few minutes to spare at either end of the trip (so any delays don’t create panic) I’d suggest giving it a go, especially if it’s been a while. Enjoy the fact there’s nothing you can do about the trip and enjoy the all too rare free time.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

