Unanswered Prayers

I’m going to a wedding tomorrow.

They’re not my friends in the sense that I’ve known them for years and we spend a lot of time together. The bride is a long-time friend of my Pretty Lady so she comes pre-approved and by extension, the groom is pre-approved by her. That made it easy. When I first met them I didn’t have to decide if I liked them, the hard work was done for me. All I had to do was get to know them.

My Pretty Lady’s in the bridal party so I’m planning on spending most of the ceremony and reception not too subtly checking her out. She’s beautiful and it’s one of my favourite things to do. If I have a couple of drinks I’ll probably even dance with her. Once. I’m no Justin Timberlake so it’ll be a slow shuffle from one foot to the other while holding her close but, knowing how much I try to avoid it, I think she’ll appreciate the gesture.

Like everyone else there I’ll wish the bride and groom well and sincerely hope their lives together are all they dream about but life’s no fairy tale.

In what now seems like a previous life, I got married once with the same hopes and dreams I’m sure they have. Then I got divorced. Lo and behold, here I am a few years later happier than I ever thought possible. Some of God’s greatest gifts…

I’m not going to tell them any of this of course because nobody needs to hear, on their wedding day, that they’ll be ok if it doesn’t work out.

More generally, it’s comforting to know we’re ok after we fall but would we ever put in the same effort if we knew from the start we were working with a net? I think the fear of failure is often the reason for success.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

